International Ornithological Congress 2018 Logo

International Ornithological Congress 2018

For the first time the Wilderness Area was represented at an International Ornithological Congress. The IOC takes place every four years and this year it took place from the 20th to the 26th of August 2018 in Vancouver, Canada. The Wilderness Area presented the two owl projects: the Ural Owl reintroduction project and the owl monitoring project. The presentations were attended by researchers from all over the world, such as Canada, USA, Mexico, Peru, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Russia to Sakhalin, Japan, China, Portugal, Denmark, England, Italy, Finland, Austria etc. It was a pleasure that the Wilderness Area and its projects met with so much interest and appreciation from researchers from all over the world. Some owl researchers who also attended the World Owl Congress in Portugal in September 2017 were there to continue the professional discussions and to make plans for further projects.

Opening Ceremony Parade (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Poster Owl Monitoring (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Poster Ural Owl (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)

The most extraordinary attraction right next to the city center of Vancouver is Stanley Park – with over 400 hectares Canada's largest city park and North America's third largest city park. Sights in Stanley Park include the Vancouver Aquarium, Beaver Lake and the Lost Lagoon, a former marine lagoon that was cut off from the sea in 1916 by road construction. The largest part of the park consists of a forest with about half a million trees.

Stanley Park (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Stanley Park Lost Lagoon (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Stanley Park Beaver Lake (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)

The forest, which covers large parts of the park, is not the result of landscape architecture, but has grown naturally. Most parts are secondary forest and consist of tall Douglas firs, Western redcedars, Western hemlocks and Sitka spruces. At some places also pristine primary forest can be found. Therefore, a daily hike from the conference in the city with skyscrapers to a partially pristine, wild primary forest was possible - a great pleasure for someone coming from a Wilderness Area to experience primary forest even so close to a big city.

Stanley Park Primärwald (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Stanley Park Primärwald (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Stanley Park Primärwald (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)

During the conference week, participants had the possibility to attend early morning bird walks to Stanley Park and even a night in sleeping bags in the forest of Stanley Park to listen for owls, observe bats, racoons, beavers during their late night and early morning activities with the silhouette of the big city in the background, and birds such as Canada Geese, Belted Kingfishers, Anna’s Hummingbirds, Pied-billed Grebes, Northern Flickers and more - even Orcas and Harbour Seals!

The conference week was overshadowed - in the truest sense of the word – by about 1,800 fires in British Columbia due to the drought with the peak of the fires one week before the conference - noticeable by smoke hanging over the city. The smoke spread over British Columbia, Washington and Oregon. On the day after the conference, the smoke cleared and suddenly the city, the sea, the mountains, Stanley Park and the famous beauty of the city of Vancouver was visible.

The tribe of the Squamish inhabited the forest of Stanley Park until the late 19th century. In 1792 Captain George Vancouver met the Squamish people as the second European during his exploratory tour. At that time the area was still an island. Meanwhile a peninsula, the area was a military area in the second half of the 19th century (from the Crimean War on a defensive alliance between the Squamish and the British against potential attacks of Russians and Americans, later military restricted area), which protected the forest against large-scale clear cuttings by the forestry companies operating there. After the foundation of the city of Vancouver in 1886, the first act of the city council was a petition to the government with the request to lease the restricted area and convert it into a park. In the 1880s, the Squamish houses were demolished by the city government due to an alleged smallpox epidemic and the Squamish were expelled. On the land of the former Squamish settlement, the subsequent opening ceremony of the park took place. In 1888, the official opening of the park took place, which was named after Lord Stanley, the then governor general. In 1988, the park was declared a National Historic Site of Canada.

In summary, the exchange during the conference week with researchers from all over the world with new project ideas and newly evolving collaborations was gratifying and successful, and the invaluable experience of the primary forest right next to the big city has broadened our horizon!

IOC 2018 Logo

International Ornithological Congress 2018 Logo

International Ornithological Congress 2018

Das Wildnisgebiet war zum ersten Mal auf einem Internationalen Ornithologenkongress vertreten. Dieser findet alle vier Jahre statt und fand heuer von 20. bis 26. August 2018 in Vancouver, Canada, statt. Das Wildnisgebiet präsentierte seine zwei Eulenprojekte: das Habichtskauz-Wiederansiedlungsprojekt und das Kleineulenprojekt. Zu den Präsentationen kamen Forscher und Interessierte aus aller Welt, wie zum Beispiel aus Canada, USA, Mexiko, Peru, Südafrika, Australien, Neuseeland, Russland bis Sachalin, Japan, China, Portugal, Dänemark, England, Italien, Finnland, Österreich usw. Es war eine Freude, dass das Wildnisgebiet und seine Projekte auf so viel Interesse und Wertschätzung von Forschern aus aller Welt trafen. Auch einige Eulenforscher, die am World Owl Congress im September 2017 in Portugal waren, waren vor Ort, um die fachlichen Diskussionen fortzusetzen und Pläne zu schmieden für weitere Projekte.

Opening Ceremony Parade (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Poster Owl Monitoring (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Poster Ural Owl (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)

Die außergewöhnlichste Sehenswürdigkeit gleich neben dem Stadtkern von Vancouver ist der über 400 ha große Stanley Park – der größte Stadtpark Canadas und der drittgrößte Stadtpark Nordamerikas. Sehenswürdigkeiten im Stanley Park sind unter anderem das Vancouver Aquarium, der Beaver Lake und die Lost Lagoon, eine ehemalige Meereslagune, die 1916 durch den Straßenbau vom Meer abgeschnitten wurde. Der größte Teil des Parks besteht aus einem Wald mit rund einer halben Million Bäume.

Stanley Park (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Stanley Park Lost Lagoon (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Stanley Park Beaver Lake (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)

Der Wald, der große Teile des Parks bedeckt, ist nicht das Ergebnis von Landschaftsarchitektur, sondern ist natürlich gewachsen. Der Baumbestand ist mehrheitlich Sekundärwald und besteht aus hochgewachsenen Douglasien, Riesenlebensbäumen, Westlichen Hemlocktannen und Sitka-Fichten. An vereinzelten Stellen ist auch unberührter Primärwald anzutreffen. So war ein täglicher Fußmarsch von der Konferenz in der Großstadt mit Wolkenkratzern in einen zum Teil unberührten, wilden Primärwald möglich – eine große Freude als Wildnisgebietsmitarbeiterin Primärwald sogar so nahe an einer Großstadt erleben zu können.

Stanley Park Primärwald (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Stanley Park Primärwald (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Stanley Park Primärwald (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)

Während der Konferenzwoche fanden für die Teilnehmer frühmorgendliche vogelkundliche Exkursionen in den Stanley Park statt sowie eine Nacht mit Schlafsack im Wald, um nach Eulen zu lauschen, Biber bei ihren Aktivitäten zu beobachten mit der Silhouette der Großstadt im Hintergrund, sowie Fledermäuse, Waschbären aus nächster Nähe sowie Vögel wie Kanadagänse, Gürtelfischer, Annakolibris, Bindentaucher, Goldspecht und mehr – sogar Orcas und Seehunde waren zu beobachten!

Überschattet – im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes – war die Konferenzwoche von ca. 1.800 Bränden in British Columbia durch die große Trockenheit mit Höhepunkt eine Woche vor der Tagung – bemerkbar durch Rauch über der Stadt. Der Rauch verteilte sich über British Columbia, Washington sowie Oregon. Am Tag nach der Tagung klarte es auf und auf einmal waren die Stadt, das Meer, die Berge, der Stanley Park und die berühmte Schönheit der Stadt Vancouver und des Umlandes zu sehen.

Der Stamm der Squamish bewohnte den Wald bis ins späte 19. Jahrhundert. Kapitän George Vancouver traf 1792 als zweiter Europäer während seiner Erkundungsreise auf den Stamm der Squamish. Zu dieser Zeit war das Gebiet noch eine Insel. Mittlerweile zu einer Halbinsel geworden, war das Gebiet in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts militärisches Sperrgebiet (ab dem Krimkrieg Verteidigungsbündnis zwischen den Squamish und den Briten gegen potentielle Angriffe der Russen und US-Amerikaner, später Sperrgebiet), was den Wald vor großflächigen Rodungen durch die dort tätigen Forstunternehmen bewahrte. Nach der Stadtgründung von Vancouver im Jahr 1886 beschloss der Stadtrat als erste Amtshandlung eine Petition an die Regierung mit der Bitte, das Sperrgebiet zu verpachten und in einen Park umzuwandeln. In den 1880er Jahren wurden die Häuser der Squamish von der Stadtregierung aufgrund einer vermeintlichen Pockenepidemie abgerissen und die Squamish wurden vertrieben. Auf dem Grund der einstigen Squamish-Siedlung fand die spätere Eröffnungsfeier des Parks statt. 1888 erfolgte die offizielle Eröffnung des Parks, der nach Lord Stanley, dem damaligen Generalgouverneur, benannt wurde. 1988 wurde der Park zur National Historic Site of Canada erklärt.

Zusammenfassend lässt sich über die Konferenzwoche sagen, dass der Austausch mit Forschern aus aller Welt mit neuen Projektideen und neu entstandenen potentiellen Kollaborationen sehr erfreulich und erfolgreich war und dass das wertvolle Erlebnis des Primärwaldes neben der Großstadt unseren Horizont erweitert hat!

IOC 2018 Logo