Hawk Mountain Sanctuary

The Hawk Mountain Sanctuary was established in 1934, making it the world's first raptor sanctuary. It is located in eastern Pennsylvania along the Appalachian flyway, is 464 m high and currently 1,052 hectares large. On average, approximately 20,000 raptors are observed every year and the sanctuary keeps the world's longest continuous record of raptor populations.

At the World Owl Congress WOC 2017 in Portugal at the University of Évora, researchers from all over the world were able to meet. So it was also possible to meet Jean-Franҫois Therrien, senior research biologist and raptor and owl researchers from Quebec. On the way home from the International Ornithological Congress IOC 2018, it was possible to visit the Hawk Mountain Sanctuary, where JF Therrien has been part of the Hawk Mountain team for eight years. At the same time, there was even a happy reunion at Hawk Mountain of four participants from last year's World Owl Congress - WOC Organizer and Global Owl Project President David H. Johnson from the US and Patricia from Portugal!

Heartfelt thanks to JF Therrien for guiding onto the Hawk Mountain, to the research facilities and the visitor center of the Hawk Mountain Sanctuary! We look forward to possible future research collaborations! All the best for all educational and research projects at Hawk Mountain!

www.hawkmountain.org

Hawk Mountain Sanctuary Lookout (photo: Ingrid Kohl)
Hawk Mountain Sanctuary's Acopian Center for Conservation Learning (photo: Ingrid Kohl)
Hawk Mountain Sanctuary: reunion of owl researchers (photo: Ingrid Kohl)
Hawk Mountain Sanctuary's office building (photo: Ingrid Kohl)
Hawk Mountain Sanctuary's Visitor Center Wings of Wonder (photo: Ingrid Kohl)
Hawk Mountain Sanctuary's Visitor Center Wings of Wonder (photo: Ingrid Kohl)

The history of Hawk Mountain Sanctuary

The sanctuary was established after thousands of hawks were shot at Hawk Mountain - forced by a bounty of 5 dollars per Goshawk from 1929 onwards. In 1931, ornithologist George Miksch Sutton reported in the article "Status of the Goshawk in Pennsylvania" on the high number of bounties paid in Drehersville and about the impressive raptor migration along the Kittatinny Ridge. In response to the article, birder and photographer Richard Pough from Philadelphia traveled to the ridge over Drehersville on a Sunday in September 1932 and witnessed the hawk shooting. A week later, Pough returned with his brother and friend Henry Collins - on a windless day without raptors and shooting scenes - to face a ground littered by hundreds of shot and injured Cooper’s Hawks and Sharp-shinned Hawks from the previous days (the Goshawks were dropped off for the 5 dollar bounty, shot or injured individuals of other species were left behind). The three men put the injured birds out of their misery, lined up the hundreds of carcasses and took pictures of them. Pough reported about the battle scene in the magazine Bird Lore, the predecessor magazine of the Audubon magazine. In the following years, Pough endeavored to stop the shooting. In the fall of 1933, Pough showed the photo of the scene to the Hawk and Owl Society. The National Audubon Society expressed an interest and sent a scout to investigate, who, unfortunately, inspected the area on a windless, calm day. The case was dropped. In 1933, Pough called for a conservationists’ meeting on the situation of the hawk shooting with special attention to the Hawk Mountain. In the audience was Rosalie Edge (1877-1962), chair of the Emergency Conservation Committee. In June 1934, Rosalie Edge visited Hawk Mountain with her son and Pough. A few weeks later, Rosalie Edge borrowed 500 dollars to lease 566 hectares of land with a purchase option. She raised funds and bought the area a few years later in 1938 for 3,500 dollars over the Emergency Conservation Committee. In doing so, she founded the world's first raptor sanctuary.

In September 1934, Rosalie Edge hired the first warden and curator, the 29-year-old Maurice Broun (1905-1971, the best naturalist - ornithologist, botanist, natural history teacher - far and wide) to stop the shooting. Broun and his wife Irma posted the area, notified the regional newspaper about the newly established sanctuary, and hired an armed guard to patrol the nearby road. Broun began to observe the raptor migration and to count the migrating birds. A natural history family formed on the Hawk Mountain around the hospitable Brouns. On rainy days it was worked together on the border fences, firewood or camping shelters.

In 1937, a law was decided, in which all raptors were protected except the hawks (accipiters). The law was not enforced. There were six shooting stands within a 30 mile radius around the Hawk Mountain. If for example an osprey or a bald eagle was shot, they could plead errors of eyesight. It was not until 1957 that all raptors in Northeastern Pennsylvania were protected by law - in the Hawk Mountain territory in the months September and October. It did not pass a comprehensive protection bill until 1969. In 1970, a law was passed protecting all raptors except the Great Horned Owl and the Snowy Owl.

In 1938 – after the purchase of the property - the Emergency Conservation Committee officially declared the area a protected area and deeded it in perpetuity to the Hawk Mountain Sanctuary Association, incorporated that same year with Rosalie Edge as first president. On the 13th of September 1940, the total raptor count reached 100,000. In the same year the area was opened to the public. In April 1942, during a talk for more than 14,000 local athletes and students, Maurice Broun presented a color movie about hawks in flight over the sanctuary, which was later distributed internationally by the Brooklyn Children's Museum. In 1948, Rosalie Edge urged members to work for hawk protection legislation in their own states. In 1949, Maurice Broun published the book "Hawk's Aloft". In 1950, Broun and volunteers continued to document hawk shooting at nearby ridges. In 1951, the Pennsylvania Game Commission terminated the 5 dollar bounty on Goshawks. In 1962, Rosalie Edge died at the age of 85.

Her son Peter Edge wrote a biography about his mother: Rosalie Edge - A Most Determined Lady (1877-1962). Her conservation career began in 1929 when she was already 52 years old, after starting to practice bird watching in the mid-1920s after her divorce. She even sent a telegram to her son Peter to school, in which she told him about rare sightings along his way home from school. In late August 1929, the new career began for Rosalie Edge. When she was staying in a hotel in Paris with her daughter and her son, she received a 16-page letter about the conservation crisis. Small songbirds and insectivorous birds were already under a certain protection at that time, but not all other birds. The letter contained a list of birds "beyond saving" - four of them became extinct. Other species ranged from "very hard to find" to the Whooping Crane with a single surviving flock. 16 species were listed as "possibly in the realm of saving" and ten more species as "more or less in danger". Today, many of these species still exist – some few in greater numbers than in 1929. This modest good fortune is probably due to the conservation movement of that time – engendered in large part by this pamphlet.

Look, each generation has to adapt to the conditions they find. When I was a boy, you saw bluebirds everywhere. They were common birds. It’s very difficult to find bluebirds now in the East—but we manage to live without them. Lots of young people, they’ve heard about the bluebird, they’d like to see a bluebird, but they’re not pining about it. Take the passenger pigeon. Who’s moaning about the passenger pigeon? They once filled the whole sky in clouds, in Audubon’s and Wilson’s time. Nobody’s moaning about the passenger pigeon. It’s gone. We’ve learned to live without it. All right. If I had children and grandchildren, I know damned well what (they would) face—an increasingly sterile world. But it doesn’t mean the end of the world. Upcoming citizens are going to have to cope. They’ll cope somehow.
- Maurice Broun, 1971 (1905-1971)

www.hawkmountain.org

Hawk Mountain Sanctuary's Visitor Center (photo: Ingrid Kohl)

Hawk Mountain Sanctuary (Kempton, Pennsylvania, US)

Hawk Mountain Sanctuary

Das Hawk Mountain Sanctuary wurde 1934 begründet und ist somit das weltweit älteste Greifvogelschutzgebiet. Es liegt im östlichen Pennsylvania entlang der Appalachen-Zugroute, ist 464 m hoch und derzeit 1.052 Hektar groß. Jährlich werden durchschnittlich ca. 20.000 Greifvögel beobachtet und es handelt sich um die weltweit längste kontinuierliche Aufzeichnung von Greifvogelpopulationen.

Am World Owl Congress WOC 2017 in Portugal an der Universität Évora konnten Kontakte zwischen Forschern weltweit geknüpft werden. So war es auch möglich Dr. Jean-Franҫois Therrien, Biologe, Greifvogel- sowie Eulenforscher aus Quebec, kennenzulernen. Auf der Rückreise vom International Ornithological Congress IOC 2018 war es möglich, das Hawk Mountain Sanctuary zu besuchen, wo JF Therrien seit acht Jahren Teil des Hawk Mountain Teams ist. Zur selben Zeit gab es sogar ein freudiges Wiedersehen von gleichzeitig vier Teilnehmern des World Owl Congress des Vorjahres – es hielten sich nämlich auch WOC Organisator und Global Owl Project Präsident David Johnsson aus den USA sowie Patricia aus Portugal am Hawk Mountain auf!

Ein herzliches Dankeschön an JF Therrien für die Führung auf den Hawk Mountain, zu den Forschungseinrichtungen sowie zum Besucherzentrum des Hawk Mountain Sanctuarys! Wir freuen uns auf mögliche künftige Forschungskooperationen! Alles Gute für alle Bildungs- und Forschungsvorhaben am Hawk Mountain!

www.hawkmountain.org

Hawk Mountain Sanctuary Lookout (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Hawk Mountain Sanctuary Forscherunterkunft (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Hawk Mountain Sanctuary: Wiedersehen Eulenforscher (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Hawk Mountain Sanctuary Bürogebäude (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Hawk Mountain Sanctuary: Besucherzentrum Wings of Wonder (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)
Hawk Mountain Sanctuary: Besucherzentrum Wings of Wonder (Foto: Ingrid Kohl)

Die Geschichte des Hawk Mountain Sanctuarys

Das Schutzgebiet wurde gegründet, nachdem tausende Habichtartige am Hawk Mountain erlegt wurden – forciert durch eine Abschussprämie von fünf Dollar pro Habicht ab 1929. Im Jahr 1931 berichtete der Ornithologe George Miksch Sutton im Artikel „Status of the Goshawk in Pennsylvania“ über die hohe Zahl der ausgezahlten Abschussprämien in Drehersville sowie über den beachtlichen Greifvogelzug entlang der Kittatinny Ridge. Als Reaktion auf den Artikel reiste Birder und Fotograph Richard Pough aus Philadelphia im Folgejahr 1932 an einem Sonntag im September zu dem Bergrücken über Drehersville und erlebte den Abschuss der Habichtartigen. Eine Woche später kehrte Pough mit seinem Bruder und seinem Freund Henry Collins – an einem windstillen Tag ohne Greifvögel und Abschussszenen – zurück, um einen Boden übersät mit hunderten erlegten und verletzten Rundschwanzsperbern und Eckschwanzsperbern der vergangenen Tage vorzufinden (die Habichte wurden für die Abschussprämie abgegeben, die restlichen Arten zurückgelassen). Die drei Männer erlösten die verletzten Vögel und legten alle vorgefundenen toten Greifvögel in Reihen auf. Pough fotographierte und berichtete über die Schlachtszene im Magazin Bird Lore, dem Vorgängermagazin des Audubon Magazins. In den Folgejahren bemühte sich Pough, den Abschuss zu stoppen. Im Herbst1933 zeigte Pough das Foto der Szene der Hawk and Owl Society. Die National Audubon Society drückte Interesse aus und sandte einen Ermittler, der allerdings leider an einem windstillen Tag das Gebiet begutachtete. Der Fall wurde fallen gelassen. 1933 rief Pough ein Treffen von Naturschützern über die Situation des Habichtabschusses ein mit spezieller Aufmerksamkeit auf den Hawk Mountain. Unter den Zuhörern befand sich Rosalie Edge (1877-1962), Vorsitzende des Notfall-Naturschutzkomitees (Emergency Conservation Committee). Im Juni 1934 besuchte Rosalie Edge den Hawk Mountain mit ihrem Sohn und Pough. Daraufhin borgte sich Rosalie Edge wenige Wochen später 500 Dollar für die Pacht von 566 Hektar Land mit Kaufoption. Sie stellte Gelder auf und kaufte das Gebiet wenige Jahre später im Jahr 1938 um 3.500 Dollar über das Notfall-Naturschutzkomitee. Damit gründete sie das weltweit erste Greifvogelschutzgebiet.

Im September 1934 engagierte Rosalie Edge den ersten Aufseher und Kurator, den 29-jährigen Maurice Broun (1905-1971, der beste Naturforscher - Ornithologe, Botaniker, Naturkundelehrer - weit und breit), um den Abschuss zu stoppen. Broun und seine Frau Irma postierten das Gebiet, verständigten die regionale Zeitung über das neu etablierte Schutzgebiet und engagierten einen bewaffneten Wächter, um die naheliegende Straße zu patrouillieren. Broun begann, den Greifvogelzug zu beobachten und die Zugvögel zu zählen. Es bildete sich eine naturkundliche Familie am Hawk Mountain um die gastfreundlichen Brouns. An Regentagen wurde gemeinsam an den Grenzzäunen gearbeitet, Feuerholz gemacht und Campingunterstände gebaut.

1937 wurde ein Gesetz beschlossen, in dem alle Greifvögel bis auf die Habichtartigen geschützt werden sollten. Das Gesetz wurde nicht vollzogen. Alleine in einem Umkreis von 30 Meilen um den Hawk Mountain gab es sechs Abschussstellen. Wurde ein Fischadler oder ein Weißkopfseeadler erlegt, wurde sich auf Falschbestimmung ausgeredet. Erst 1957 wurden alle Greifvögel in Nordost-Pennsylvania per Gesetz geschützt – im Gebiet des Hawk Mountain in den Monaten September und Oktober. Ein umfangreicher Schutz setzte sich erst 1969 in einem Gesetzesentwurf durch. 1970 wurde das Gesetz beschlossen – alle Greifvögel waren geschützt – bis auf die Schneeeule und den Virginia-Uhu.

1938 – nach dem Kauf des Gebietes – erklärte das Notfall-Naturschutzkomitee das Gebiet offiziell zum Schutzgebiet und überschreibt es an die im selben Jahr gegründete Hawk Mountain Sanctuary Association mit Rosalie Edge als erste Präsidentin. Am 13. September 1940 erreicht die Gesamtsumme der aufgezeichneten Greifvögel seit Etablierung des Schutzgebietes die 100.000er-Grenze. Im selben Jahr wurde das Gebiet für die Öffentlichkeit geöffnet. Im April 1942 stellt Maurice Broun während eines Vortrages für über 14.000 Sportler und Studenten einen Farbfilm über Habichtartige über dem Schutzgebiet vor, der später international verbreitet wurde durch das Brooklyn Children’s Museum. 1948 ermutigte Edge die Mitglieder, sich auch in anderen Staaten für Greifvogelschutzgesetze einzusetzen. 1949 veröffentlichte Broun das Buch „Hawk’s Aloft“. 1950 hielten Broun und Freiwillige die Abschüsse von Greifvögeln auf umliegenden Bergrücken fest. 1951 zieht die Pennsylvania Wildkommission die 5-Dollar-Abschussprämie auf Habichte zurück. 1962 verstarb Rosalie Edge im Alter von 85 Jahren.

Ihr Sohn Peter Edge schrieb eine Biographie über seine Mutter: Rosalie Edge – A Most Determined Lady (1877-1962). Ihre Naturschutzkarriere begann 1929 als sie bereits 52 Jahre alt war, nachdem sie sich Mitte der 1920er-Jahre nach ihrer Scheidung dem Vogelbeobachten verschrieb. Sie schickte ihrem Sohn Peter sogar ein Telegramm in die Schule, in dem sie ihm seltene Sichtungen entlang des Heimweges mitteilte. Im späten August 1929 begann die neue Karriere für Rosalie Edge. Als sie sich mit ihrer Tochter und ihrem Sohn in einem Hotel in Paris aufhielt, erreichte sie ein 16 Seiten langer Brief über die Naturschutzkrise. Kleine Singvögel und Insektenfresser standen zu dieser Zeit bereits unter einem gewissen Schutz, nicht jedoch alle anderen Vögel. Das Schreiben enthielt eine Liste von Vögeln, für die es bereits zu spät sei, sie unter Schutz zu stellen („beyond saving“) – vier davon sind mittlerweile ausgestorben. Andere Arten reichten von “sehr schwer zu finden” bis zum Schreikranich mit einem einzigen überlebenden Schwarm. 16 Arten wurden gelistet im “möglichen Bereich, gerettet zu werden” und zehn weitere Arten als „mehr oder weniger in Gefahr“. Heute existieren viele dieser Arten noch immer – manche in einer größeren Zahl als im Jahr 1929. Diese glückliche Tatsache ist wahrscheinlich der damaligen Naturschutzbewegung zu verdanken – zum großen Teil ausgelöst durch das erwähnte Pamphlet.

Schau, jede Generation muss sich an die Bedingungen anpassen, die sie vorfindet. Als ich ein Junge war, hast du überall Rotkehl-Hüttensänger gesehen. Sie waren häufige Vögel. Jetzt ist es im Osten sehr schwierig, welche zu finden - aber wir schaffen es, ohne sie zu leben. Viele junge Leute haben von Rotkehl-Hüttensänger gehört, sie würden gerne welche sehen, aber sie sehnen sich nicht danach. Nehmen wir die Wandertaube. Wer klagt über die Wandertaube? Sie füllten einst den ganzen Himmel in Wolken, in Audubons und Wilsons Zeit. Niemand klagt über die Wandertaube. Sie ist verschwunden. Wir haben gelernt, ohne sie zu leben. Gut. Hätte ich Kinder und Enkelkinder, wüsste ich verdammt gut, welcher Situation sie gegenüberstehen würden – einer zunehmend sterilen Welt. Aber es bedeutet nicht das Ende der Welt. Kommende Bürger werden damit zurechtkommen müssen. Sie werden irgendwie zurechtkommen.
- Maurice Broun, 1971 (1905-1971)

www.hawkmountain.org

Hawk Mountain Sanctuary

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Weitere Informationen

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen.
Wenn sie diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwenden, oder auf "Akzeptieren" klicken, erklären sie sich damit einverstanden.

Akzeptieren