All posts by Ingrid Kohl

Call for Papers about owl research

WorldOwlConference2019India1 The 6th World Owl Conference - WOC 2019 India - is going to take place from the 29th of November until the 2nd of December 2019 at the SP University in Pune in India. After the conference the 2nd Indian Owl Festival is going to take place at ELA Habitat on the 3rd and 4th of December 2019. The hosts of the conference are the Ela Foundation (fb) and the SP Pune University. The Wilderness Area is part of the conference committee. If you were interested, you are... Continue reading

Thanks to all supporters of our owls

Habichtskauz A heartfelt THANK YOU to all supporters of our owls! Whether from the region or from far away - every supporter is of inexplicable value! Our owls are supported in the region by companies from Göstling/Ybbs, Lunz/See, Scheibbs, Wildalpen and Waidhofen/Ybbs. There are also supporters from Vienna and one supporter is from Poland. Partner organizations are widespread - whether from the region, Upper Austria, Marchfeld, the Ukraine, South Africa, India or North... Continue reading

Call for Papers about project concepts

Invitation Little internal Wilderness Conference in the Dürrenstein Wilderness AreaFor researchers about potential future research projects & funding possibilities Thursday, 17th October 2019, ca. 9h to 18hGasthof Hammerwirt, Stixenlehen 27, A-3345 Göstling/Ybbs, Austria, hammerwirt.at If you are interested in wilderness specific or primeval forest specific research in the Dürrenstein Wilderness Area WGD resp. the Rothwald Primeval Forest, a collaboration... Continue reading

KinderUNI in Waidhofen

kinderuni-logo For the fourth time Waidhofen/Ybbs became university city for a few days. The KinderUNI took place in the Rothschild Castle from the 2nd until the 4th of July 2019. Kids from 5 to 15 had again the possibility to discover the big world as little researchers. The Wilderness Area was part of the KinderUNI with a presentation about the Wilderness Area, with a wilderness seminar and an owl seminar. Thanks to the owlproject.org for the collaboration! Thanks to the kids,... Continue reading

Ural Owl Project is 10

The Ural Owl project is 10 and with the project also a few Ural Owls! On the 17th of June 2019 the 10 year anniversary of the Ural Owl project was celebrated at the Austrian Ornithological Centre in Seebarn - with the rector of the University of Veterinary Medicine Prof. Petra Winter, the deputy governor Dr. Stephan Pernkopf, the project leader Dr. Richard Zink, the mayor of Seebarn Mag. Alfred Riedl, the deputy director of the Zoo Vienna Dr. Harald Schwammer and... Continue reading

Natural World Heritage Pirin in danger

Pirin24_forthenature.org-gallery-320 The UNESCO Natural World Heritage Site Pirin National Park of the IUCN Category II includes two IUCN Category I Nature Reserves with old-growth forests of an age of 600 years and is located in the Southwest of Bulgaria. Since several years the protected area with its old-growth forests is in danger because of planned ski resorts with new ski slopes and buildings through areas of the UNESCO World Heritage and even IUCN Category I areas. Also some of the oldest... Continue reading

World Owl Conference 2019 in India

WorldOwlConference2019India1 The 6th World Owl Conference - WOC 2019 India - is going to take place from the 29th of November until the 2nd of December 2019 at the SP University in Pune in India. After the conference the 2nd Indian Owl Festival is going to take place at ELA Habitat on the 3rd and 4th of December 2019. The hosts of the conference are the Ela Foundation (fb) and the SP Pune University. The Wilderness Area is part of the conference committee. If you are interested you are... Continue reading

NMS Göstling supports Owlproject.org in South Africa

NMSsupportsOwlprojectorg_PetraFleischhacker3 During the visit of Owlproject.org from South Africa in the NMS Göstling in March, the owl fever has broken out for the kids. The idea to support the kids in the partner school Marlboro School in their owl project was born fast. The kids of the NMS organised a bake sale on several days. During school lessons different kinds of muffins and cupcakes were made and bread was prepared. With their delicious snacks the kids made 315€ for Owlproject.org. On the 3rd of... Continue reading

Young Ural Owls ringed

Habichtskauzberingung_ChristophLeditznig03b The young Ural Owls that hatched in the wild around the Wilderness Area were ringed. Eight broods were found and chicks hatched in four broods. Two broods of the successful broods were found in nest boxes and two broods in tree holes - in a beech tree and a maple tree. Nine chicks were found, one of the chicks was too young to be ringed, so eight chicks were ringed. In a tree hole and in a nest box three chicks were found each, in a tree hole two and in a nest box... Continue reading

Guest of honour at OAW Linz

EhrengastOAWLinz_IngridKohl10 In spring 2019 the owl and raptor center OAW Linz of the Naturschutzbund OÖ, founded by Reinhard Osterkorn as well as cooperation partner of the Dürrenstein Wilderness Area, was welcoming a guest of honour from South Africa, Jonathan Haw, founder of EcoSolutions.co.za and owlproject.org. AlsoStephan Weigl of the Biologiezentrum Linz was visiting the center. Our guest of honour, who was presenting the owlproject.org in two presentations and two school projects... Continue reading

Egyptian Vulture release in Bulgaria

On the 15th of May 2019 the almost one-year-old Egyptian Vulture that hatched in the UNESCO Cultural World Heritage Site Zoo Vienna was released in the Eastern Rhodope Mountains in Bulgaria with two other young Egyptian Vultures (from Zlín in the Czech Republic and from Jeréz in Spain). Many thanks to the Zoo Vienna for the interest in the exchange of experiences from reintroduction projects with the UNESCO Natural World Heritage Site Dürrenstein Wilderness Area.... Continue reading

Owlproject.org from South Africa on tour in Austria

owlproject.org_Wildnisgebiet_Buergermeister_Goestling_WolfgangAlfanz The Owlproject.org from South Africa was on tour in Austria! The Wilderness Area organised two presentations and two school projects in Göstling/Ybbs and in Vienna. On the 15th of March 2019 Jonathan Haw, founder of Owlproject.org, gave a presentation at the Hammerwirt in Göstling/Ybbs as well as on the 18th of March 2019 at the university of Vienna for the bird club. On the 15th of March 2019 the highlight of the school project in the school NMS Göstling was the... Continue reading

Owlproject.org

Owlproject.org: Owl Artwork (Foto: Sara Orchardson) For the second time the Wilderness Area was lucky to experience the various activities of owlproject.org in Johannesburg. Within two decades of owlproject.org more than hundred thousand school children learned about the life of owls and their position in the ecosystem, with the vision of a poison free environment and a society without myths that are harming owl populations dramatically, and for raising awareness that owls are reducing the rat populations. Through... Continue reading

Raptor Research Foundation Conference

Raptor Research Foundation Conference (Foto: Raptor Research Foundation) In November 2018 the Raptor Research Foundation Conference took place in the Kruger National Park in South Africa. The Wilderness Area was represented at the conference with two owl projects - the ural owl and the owl monitoring project. Various topics around raptor conservation worldwide and with the focus of South Africa were discussed. Topic no. 1 was the rhino poaching and the poisoning of the carcasses which poisons hundreds of vultures and other wildlife.... Continue reading

Alle Beiträge von Ingrid Kohl

Eulentagung 2019 in Bad Blankenburg

AGEulen-Logo2 Vom Freitag, 6.9.2019 bis Sonntag, 8.9.2019 findet die 35. Jahrestagung der AG Eulen in der Landessportschule in Bad Blankenburg / Thüringen statt. Ihre Anmeldung zur Teilnahme an der Tagung senden Sie bitte an die Adresse des Kassenwarts der AG Eulen, Klaus Hillerich, Röntgenstraße 7, D-64823 Groß-Umstadt, klaus.hillerich[at]ageulen.de. Dazu können Sie das Formular im Anhang verwenden: ausgefüllt als E-Mailanhang oder ausgedruckt als Briefpost. Zur Deckung der... Weiterlesen

Call for Papers über Eulenforschung

WorldOwlConference2019India1 Die 6. Welteulenkonferenz - WOC 2019 Indien - findet von 29. November bis 2. Dezember 2019 an der Universität in Pune in Indien statt. Anschließend findet am 3. und 4. Dezember 2019 das zweite Indische Eulenfestival im ELA Habitat statt. Gastgeber der Konferenz sind die Ela Foundation (fb) und die SP Pune University. Das Wildnisgebiet ist Teil des Konferenzkomitees. Bei Interesse sind Sie eingeladen, an der Konferenz teilzunehmen, einen Vortrag (zu 15 Minuten) zu... Weiterlesen

Danke an alle Eulenunterstützer

Habichtskauz Ein herzliches Dankeschön an alle Unterstützer unserer Eulen! Ob aus der Region oder von weiter her - jeder Unterstützer ist von unschätzbarem Wert! Unsere Eulen werden in der Region unterstützt von Betrieben aus Göstling an der Ybbs, Lunz am See, Scheibbs, Wildalpen und Waidhofen an der Ybbs. Es gibt auch Unterstützer aus Wien und ein Unterstützer kommt aus Polen. Auch Partnerorganisationen sind weit gestreut - ob in der Region, in Oberösterreich, im Marchfeld,... Weiterlesen

Call for Papers über Projektkonzepte

Rothwald (Foto: Yehor Yatsiuk). Einladung Kleine interne Wildnistagung im Wildnisgebiet Dürrenstein Für Forscher über potentielle künftige Forschungsprojekte & Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten Donnerstag, 17. Oktober 2019, ca. 9 bis 18 Uhr Gasthof Hammerwirt, Stixenlehen 27, A-3345 Göstling/Ybbs, hammerwirt.at Falls Sie Interesse haben, an wildnisspezifischer oder urwaldspezifischer Forschung im Wildnisgebiet Dürrenstein WGD bzw. Urwald Rothwald, an einer Kooperation mit dem WGD, einer... Weiterlesen

KinderUNI in Waidhofen

kinderuni-logo Zum vierten Mal wurde Waidhofen an der Ybbs für ein paar Tage zur Universitätsstadt. Die KinderUNI fand von 2. bis 4. Juli 2019 im Rothschild-Schloss statt. Kinder von 5 bis 15 Jahren hatten erneut die Möglichkeit, als kleine Forscher die große Welt zu entdecken. Das Wildnisgebiet war mit einem Vortrag über die Wildnis, einem Wildnisseminar und einem Eulenseminar vertreten. Danke dem Owlproject.org für die Zusammenarbeit! Danke allen Kindern, Helfern und der... Weiterlesen

Habichtskauzprojekt wird 10

Das Habichtskauzprojekt wird 10 und mit ihm so mancher Habichtskauz! Am 17. Juni 2019 wurde in der Österreichischen Vogelwarte in Seebarn das 10-Jahresjubiläum gefeiert - mit der Rektorin der Veterinärmedizinischen Universität Frau Prof. Petra Winter, dem LH-Stellvertreter Dr. Stephan Pernkopf, dem Projektleiter Dr. Richard Zink , dem Bürgermeister von Seebarn Mag. Alfred Riedl, dem Stv. Direktor des Tiergarten Schönbrunns Dr. Harald Schwammer u.v.m. Neben der... Weiterlesen

Weltnaturerbe Pirin in Gefahr

Pirin24_forthenature.org-gallery-320 Das UNESCO Weltnaturerbe Pirin Nationalpark der IUCN Kategorie II beinhaltet zwei IUCN Kategorie I Naturreservate mit 600 Jahre alten Waldbeständen und befindet sich im Südwesten Bulgariens. Seit einigen Jahren ist das Schutzgebiet mitsamt der Altbestände durch geplante Schiresorts mit neuen Schiabfahrten und Gebäuden im Weltnaturerbe und sogar in Kategorie I Schutzgebieten gefährdet. Auch einige der ältesten Waldbestände Europas sind in Gefahr, gefällt zu werden,... Weiterlesen

World Owl Conference 2019 in Indien

WorldOwlConference2019India1 Die 6. Welteulenkonferenz - WOC 2019 Indien - findet von 29. November bis 2. Dezember 2019 an der Universität in Pune in Indien statt. Anschließend findet am 3. und 4. Dezember 2019 das zweite Indische Eulenfestival im ELA Habitat statt. Gastgeber der Konferenz sind die Ela Foundation (fb) und die SP Pune University. Das Wildnisgebiet ist Teil des Konferenzkomitees. Bei Interesse sind Sie eingeladen, an der Konferenz teilzunehmen, einen Vortrag (zu 15 Minuten) zu... Weiterlesen

NMS Göstling unterstützt das Owlproject.org in Südafrika

NMSsupportsOwlprojectorg_PetraFleischhacker3 Beim Besuch des Owlproject.org aus Südafrika im März in der NMS Göstling wurden die Schüler und Schülerinnen vom Eulenfieber gepackt. Die Idee, die Schüler der Partnerschule Marlboro School bei ihrem Eulenprojekt zu unterstützen, war schnell geboren. Daraufhin organisierten die Schüler der NMS an mehreren Tagen einen Jausenverkauf. Im Unterricht wurden viele verschiedene Muffins und Cupcakes gebacken und Brote vorbereitet. Dabei wurden 315€ für das Owlproject.org... Weiterlesen

Junge Habichtskäuze beringt

Habichtskauzberingung_ChristophLeditznig03b Die jungen Habichtskäuze, die im Frühjahr 2019 in freier Wildbahn um das Wildnisgebiet erbrütet wurden, wurden beringt. Es konnten acht Bruten entdeckt werden, wovon aus vier Bruten erfolgreich Junge schlüpften und beringt wurden. Dabei fanden zwei Bruten in Nistkästen statt und zwei Bruten in Baumhöhlen - in einer Buche und in einem Ahorn. Neun Junge wurden gefunden, wobei ein Jungvogel zur Zeit der Beringung noch zu klein war, so konnten acht Jungvögel beringt... Weiterlesen

Ehrengast bei OAW Linz

EhrengastOAWLinz_IngridKohl10 Im Frühling 2019 durfte die Eulen- und Greifvogelschutzstation OAW Linz vom Naturschutzbund OÖ, gegründet und geleitet von Reinhard Osterkorn sowie Kooperationsparter vom Wildnisgebiet Dürrenstein, einen Ehrengast aus Südafrika, Jonathan Haw, Gründer von EcoSolutions.co.za und owlproject.org willkommen heißen. Auch Stephan Weigl vom Biologiezentrum Linz war beim Stationsbesuch dabei. Unser Ehrengast, der gemeinsam mit dem Wildnisgebiet zwei Vorträge und zwei... Weiterlesen

Schmutzgeierfreilassung in Bulgarien

Am 15. Mai 2019 wurde der fast einjährige Schmutzgeier, der im UNESCO Weltkulturerbe Tiergarten Schönbrunn erbrütet wurde, in den östlichen Rhodopen in Bulgarien mit zwei weiteren jungen Schmutzgeiern (aus Zlín in der Tschechischen Republik und aus Jerez in Spanien) freigelassen. Vielen Dank dem Tiergarten Schönbrunn für das Interesse am Austausch mit dem UNESCO Weltnaturerbe Wildnisgebiet Dürrenstein über die Erfahrungen aus Wiederansiedlungsprojekten. Vielen... Weiterlesen

Owlproject.org aus Südafrika auf Besuch in Österreich

owlproject.org_Wildnisgebiet_Buergermeister_Goestling_WolfgangAlfanz Das Owlproject.org aus Südafrika war auf Besuch in Österreich! Das Wildnisgebiet organisierte zwei Vorträge und zwei Schulprojekte in Göstling an der Ybbs und in Wien. Am 15. März 2019 gab Jonathan Haw, Gründer von Owlproject.org, einen Vortrag beim Hammerwirt in Göstling an der Ybbs sowie am 18. März 2019 einen Vortrag an der Universität Wien im Rahmen des Ornitreffs. Am 15. März 2019 gab es den Höhepunkt des mehrwöchigen Schulprojektes an der Sportmittelschule... Weiterlesen

Owlproject.org

Owlproject.org: Owl Artwork (Foto: Sara Orchardson) Zum zweiten Mal hatte das Wildnisgebiet das Glück, die vielfältigen Aktivitäten des Owlproject.org in Johannesburg miterleben zu dürfen. In zwei Jahrzehnten wurde im Owlproject.org über hunderttausend Schulkindern das Leben der Eulen und ihre Stellung im Ökosystem nahegebracht, um mit weitverbreiteten Mythen, die die Eulenbestände stark gefährden, aufzuräumen und das Bewusstsein zu schaffen, wie schädlich und gefährlich Rattengift ist und dass Eulen die... Weiterlesen